Some Thoughts on Practicing Thankfulness….

• Some Thoughts on Practicing Thankfulness….

Posted by dana.acker on November 25, 2021 at 11:22 am

Happy Thanksgiving, fellow Tavern Brothers and Sisters! The holiday season, from Thanksgiving to Christmas can be a difficult time for many. Our current economic, political, and spiritual situations aren’t doing much to help. In fact, I believe the terminal inundation of non-solicited throat punches that we endure on a daily, weekly, monthly and yearly basis can be downright disheartening. The Bible has some interesting insights on the depraved state of mankind, and the reasons for said state….and it’s OK, I’m a trained professional, a real minister, though my title has been downgraded from “Reverend” to “Irreverend.” St. Paul the Apostle wrote: “For although they knew God, they did not honor him as God or give thanks to him, but they became futile in their thinking, and their foolish hearts were darkened. Claiming to be wise, they became fools,…” Romans 1:21-22 (ESV). Did you catch that one of the reasons for mankind’s current state was that they failed to “give thanks” to God. I’m a subscriber to the Bing Crosby school of mental health and theology. In the movie “White Christmas,” ol’ Bing sang to Rosemary Clooney, Irving Berlin’s classic, “…When I’m worried and I can’t sleep, I count my blessings instead of sheep, And I fall asleep counting my blessings. When my bankroll is getting small, I think of when I had none at all, And I fall asleep counting my blessings….” I’ve found it helpful when I start to get weighed down with the constant barrage of BS, to take a sheet of paper and just start listing all the things for which I’m thankful. Im thankful for things like in spite of myself, God loves me. For my wife, Trish, and ALL my children and grandchildren. For my true friends. For my dog. For my relatives and friends who have passed on, but who positively impacted my life. For truth, and a good source of it in the Thomas