Mechanical Engineer/Designer, 3D Printing

• Mechanical Engineer/Designer, 3D Printing

Posted by Cracker5 on June 14, 2021 at 8:53 pm

Thanks for putting this group up here, hopefully we will see more come into this fold. I have been a designer for over 25 years, I have my own business in Northwest NJ. We have seven 3D printers that we run regularly, two of them run 24/7 doing production work.

Although I like designing products, prototypes and the like, my true passion is wood working, and who knows what is going to happen going forward. Maybe the wood working may be a viable barter system should some raw materials become impossible to get.

If anyone has any questions or needs help in the area, please do not hesitate to ask, I like helping folks out.

Cracker5 replied 2 years, 9 months ago 2 Members · 2 Replies
  • 2 Replies
  • WhiskeyTangoFoxtrot

Organizer
    June 19, 2021 at 4:49 pm

Hey Bob! Welcome, I apologize I didn’t realize that the Discussions and Feed were actually separated so I just saw this!

That is awesome, what kind of thing do you produce with your printers, if you don’t mind me asking? I would love to work with 3d printers and lathes in the future as a career. If I could build and design things for a living I truly would never be unhappy, just frustrated a lot haha

Also what kind of things do you like to build with your wood working? I grew up near High Point, NC so we were right there in the heart of woodworking land. I knew all kinds of furniture makers and woodworkers growing up

• Cracker5

June 21, 2021 at 12:17 pm

Hey Josh, I have my own business and I do engineering and product development for multiple companies. Mostly I print prototypes of the parts I design for these companies, but the printers are also valuable for things we need around the house that can’t be easily purchased or even exist. They are very handy tools.